Alphabet Land Official Release

alphabet-land

Alphabet Land, my first noir crime thriller featuring the problem-solver The Rook, is out today! Pick up the Kindle version ($4.99) or paperback ($14.95) here on Amazon. For fans of Barnes & Noble, go here, or if you prefer, buy it from Books-a-Million, my former employer while in grad school, here. And, of course, you can purchase my book from IndieBound, too.

I’m pretty proud of this book, and I believe readers will have a tough time putting it down once they start reading. . .and when you do finish reading it,  please write a review on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Goodreads, and/or anywhere else you see fit. Reviews need not be long, but if you want to gush and ramble on and on and on about my brilliance as a novelist, well, I won’t stand in your way.  But seriously, for small press authors, reviews are very important, so thank you in advance for taking the time.

Enjoy!

Max

Read Excerpt of ALPHABET LAND

alphabet land promo picalphabet-land

Attention fans of noir/hardboiled fiction: click here to read the first chapter of my forthcoming crime thriller Alphabet Land.  If you like it, pre-order the paperback ($14.95) or Kindle ($3.99) here. Or head over to Barnes & Noble and get it here.

Advanced praise for Alphabet Land: 

“Alphabet Land is as coarse and gritty as Carolina noir can get. Max Everhart has a new big fan.”
—JOHN VORHAUS, author of The California Roll 

“Everhart has skillfully put together a fresh, tight tale that juggles the story of multiple damaged goods characters that collide face-first on a chunk of dirt called Alphabet Land. Crime story goodness that’s gritty, pulpy, tragic, even funny at times and rips through pages like lightning.”
—MIKE McCRARY, author of Remo Went Rogue and Getting Ugly

“Alphabet Land, decrepit neighborhood on the wrong side of the bridge in Clyde, South Carolina. A bridge separating “haves” from “have nots,” opulence from squalor, justice from injustice. Meet the Rook, product of Alphabet Land, casket-maker and “problem-solver” by trade. Call him vigilante, or Robin Hood—the Rook lives by his own code and his word is his bond. Max Everhart’s mystifying hero is determined to stop the lustful power mongers from both sides of the bridge before greed destroys all hope for the hood’s people. Hang onto your hat, because you’re in for one hell of a non-stop ride through the dark and violent streets of Alphabet Land!”
—E. MICHAEL HELMS, author of the  Mac McClellan Mystery series

“Alphabet Land is a crooked little concoction of hard luck, urban decay, and vigilante style justice. In this fast-paced urban noir, Everhart introduces the Rook, a chess playing, coffin-building, monosyllabic badass, who’s hellbent on pushing back the rising tide of corruption in his city no matter what it takes. Highly recommended!”

–John Mantooth, author of The Year of the Storm and Shoebox Train Wreck

ALPHABET LAND edits…done

keep-calm-because-it-is-finishedfreddie-mercury-finished-book

Weighing in at a lean, mean 50K or so words . . .I just finished the initial edits for my crime thriller Alphabet Land.  The editors at 280 Steps cut about 4K words, which make the story shift from moving at a brisk pace to a pulse-pounding, break-neck speed! I really dig it. Ditto the other changes they made, namely, getting rid of the character names I was using as chapter headings and replacing them with timestamps. This makes perfect sense from a reader perspective because the entire novel takes place in 24 hours. Now it reads like a super intense episode of 24.

A couple of other things I noticed about Alphabet Land. . .

Thing #1: I have a very little recollection of writing this book. So it was kind of amazing to review it again, almost like reading someone else’s work.  I was struck (and, impressed, in all humility) by the cinematic quality of the writing, the hardboiled-ness of the dialog, the gritty settings, and (gulp!) the timely relevance of the themes in play: political and police corruption, race relations, and unemployment. (Note: any “smart” bits, I’ll take credit for, but were, alas, completely accidental.)

Thing #2: The Rook is a dynamic and viable protagonist. As a part-time casket maker, part-time “problem-solver,” the Rook is obsessed with chess, with cleaning up his beloved Alphabet Land neighborhood, and with justice for the disenfranchised.  He has a twisted past, a strong moral compass, and an uncompromising nature. Might sound grandiose, but I want to read more stories with him. . .so I guess I have to write them.

Thing #3: I’m pissed-scared I will never be able to write another book. Occupational hazard, or so I’ve been told by better and more experienced writers than myself, but I still feel an odd mixture of awe at I what I was able to finish and crushing doubt that it’s nowhere near as good as I think it is. And that people will not want to read it. Maybe they won’t. Still, it’s finished, so that’s something.

But enough of my belly-aching. I’m passing 50K on Hannah’s Version, my so-called literary novel, and I’ve got miles and miles to go before I sleep.